Graduated – Now what?!

I have officially graduated! I say officially because I am now admitting that December 13th, 2012 has really happened. My last quarter with the Art Institute of Pittsburgh, going into the new year of 2013 as a BS Graduate.
I photographed some quick snap shots of my friends helping me set up my portfolio booth and of my two other classmates who were graduating along with me. ( I didn’t get the chance to snap a shot of my dearest friend Jess and her boyfriend helping put envelopes together. Thank you for that!!)
Undergrad – Complete.
Found a Job (as yet) – Incomplete
I am hitting the 3 month stretch and not only have I not received my degree but I have not received, gained, earned or lucked out with a job in my field.
My Field – Editorial Fashion Photography
I have applied, like many of us who graduate, to jobs in my field located in London, Philadelphia, Pittsburgh, New York and New Jersey.
Reply – “Thank you for your resume/CV/application. We are looking over your qualifications and if we see a fit, we will contact you.” Then, ” We like to thank you for your recent resume/CV/application. At this time we have considered another candidate for the position. We will keep your information on file for the next 60 days to a year and if a fit matches during that time we will contact you. Thank you.”
My Reply – “Sigh, not another automatic rejection letter.” Unhappy face.
So, I say now what?
Stay busy – Check
Stay creative – Check (barely)
Stay motivated – Check (barely)
Stay productive – Check (barely…does laying on the couch in a sad lump count?)
Stay positive – Check…well that’s waning.
Honestly, I know the breaks when it comes to finding a good job that you receive a good pay, creativity and love what you do. It takes time and diligence. You just don’t get a job right out of the market. First, you must be shipped to the store. After much branding and deliberation of what that brand is, then there are the test studies. Does your brand register with the consumer? Are you likable? Skilled in what you offer? Can you do the job and better yet, do it and make it better all at once. Like a magician that pulls a rabbit out of a hat – do you have Prestige?
Then in the store you go, once your all ready for consumer consumption, along with the hundreds of other graduates in your field and/or study. Not just those you graduated with, are your competition but those in the next town over, state and country.
All vying for that spot as an assistant, production assistant, photographer, crew member, stooge, lackey and what have you that pays well.
Yes, it takes time.
And, yes some get the ‘Job’ right out of college and while in college. Are they better than you? Is their work ethic, images, portfolio or brand better? Or does your brand, work ethic, images or portfolio just suck?
That’s the road block talking. You know, when you set yourself a time limit on when you should have a job by and that deadline passes you by.
I say You but I mean ME.
That’s where I am at, at the negative road block where all the nay sayers both in my head and not in my head; get the negative message through.
There is a shining light at the end of this tunnel, please don’t fret.
No – Have not found that job yet. But…
I have found purpose and hope. Hope that I can start a business as a photographer. There is a reason why business 1 and 2 class were given as my core photography classes. Duh.
Now What? – Open up shop.
1. Start blog to introduce yourself to the consumer.
2. Invest in equipment for better gigs.
3. Get more gigs. Freelance can make some money.
4. Get my ass in gear and become more creative, productive, busy, motivated and positive.
5. Be happy. Not a lot of people get to where I am in life, even if I may think I should be further along.
I am further along. I didn’t think I would graduate let alone go to college. But, I did.
Oh yeah, I hate not having a job but I’m thinking of making my own JOB, one that I love and know I have to make some good pay, is the way for me. Make a way out of no way.

My portfolio review debut. This is my 'branding' display. Each graduating class, every quarter sets up a booth style presentation of their work for employers, friends and family.

My portfolio review debut. This is my ‘branding’ display. Each graduating class, every quarter sets up a booth style presentation of their work for employers, friends and family.

My best friend Jenn, looking very serious as she helps me set up. She also designed my logo and and resume on my site.

My best friend Jenn, looking very serious as she helps me set up. She also designed my logo and and resume on my site.

My close friend Katey Corrado being silly while we set up our portfolio displays. My portfolio review debut.  Each graduating class, every quarter sets up a booth style presentation of their work for employers, friends and family.

My close friend Katey Corrado being silly while we set up our portfolio displays. My portfolio review debut. Each graduating class, every quarter sets up a booth style presentation of their work for employers, friends and family.

My portfolio review debut. This is my 'branding' display. To the right is my friend's Katey Corrado. Each graduating class, every quarter sets up a booth style presentation of their work for employers, friends and family.

My portfolio review debut. This is my ‘branding’ display. To the right is my friend’s Katey Corrado. Each graduating class, every quarter sets up a booth style presentation of their work for employers, friends and family.

My portfolio review debut. This is my 'branding' display. Each graduating class, every quarter sets up a booth style presentation of their work for employers, friends and family.

My portfolio review debut. This is my ‘branding’ display. Each graduating class, every quarter sets up a booth style presentation of their work for employers, friends and family.

Katey Corrado being all sweet and cute as we chat before portfolio show.

Katey Corrado being all sweet and cute as we chat before portfolio show.

My friend Sarah Bostic who graduated with us looking pretty as we grab snacks before the portfolio show.

My friend Sarah Bostic who graduated with us looking pretty as we grab snacks before the portfolio show.

My portfolio review debut. This is my 'branding' display. Each graduating class, every quarter sets up a booth style presentation of their work for employers, friends and family.

My portfolio review debut. This is my ‘branding’ display. Each graduating class, every quarter sets up a booth style presentation of their work for employers, friends and family.

This entry was published on March 29, 2013 at 3:16 pm. It’s filed under PhotographerGirl and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

